Return to Home Page
About The Club
Muir Cottage
Club Activities
Meets Calendar
Past Meets
Newsletters
Club Membership
Club Contact Information
Club Forum
Links
Miscellaneous Items

Last updated: 22/01/18

 

Jan - Mar 2018 Apr - Jun 2018 Jul - Sept 2018 Oct - Dec 2018

                   
                   The Cairngorm Club Calendar of Events

Day Meets Climbing Meets Indoor/Social Meets Foreign Meets
Weekend Meets Mid-Week Walks Club Events Other

Jan - Mar 2018
16 Jan Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
23 Jan Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
25 Jan Thur Kinellar and Tyrebagger (Marion White)
26 Jan Fri & Sat nights Muir Cottage, Burns Supper (Judy & Robbie Middleton) Celebrate Scotlandís Bard Robert Burns with some traditional Scottish food, drink and possibly some traditional music. Over the weekend you could also tackle some Munros, Corbetts, skiing or ski touring as well as your haggis, neeps and tatties. To book, contact Judy & Robbie Middleton
30 Jan Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
2 Feb Fri Lunch and Dander - Meet at Crathes Castle Car Park at 10:30am with lunch at Milton of Crathes at 12:30. (Ruth Payne)
6 Feb Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
7 Feb Wed Indoor Meet - Back to the Hills, Garry Cormack. 7.30pm at The Sportsman's Club, 11 Queens Road, Aberdeen (Ivan Hiscox)
10 Feb Sat Ben Vorlich & Stuc a'Chroin (Garry Wardrope) This minibus meet is a trip to Loch Earn in Perthshire. Subject to conditions the party will ascend Ben Vorlich from Ardvorlich on the shores of Loch Earn.  If time and conditions allow we will also ascend Stuc a Chroin. Full winter conditions are expected so ice axe and crampons should be carried by all attending. Other options include perhaps a walk up Glen Ogle via the old railway line and back. To book, contact Garry Wardrope
13 Feb Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
16 Feb Fri & Sat nights Climbers Club, Riasg, Roy Bridge. (Jim Bryce) Riasg (ĎThe Boggy Placeí) is situated in the village of Roybridge, on the A86 about 20km from Fort William. It is in an excellent location for Ben Nevis and the major climbing centres of the west coast of Scotland. Glen Coe is 35 minutes drive and even Skye and the Cairngorms are accessible from here. To book, contact Jim Bryce. Winter Skills training available at this meet, contact Garry Wardrope.
20 Feb Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
22 Feb Thur Seaton Cliffs & Auchmithie, Arbroath (Fiona Lyall)
27 Feb Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
6 Mar Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
7 Mar Wed Indoor Meet - Ruth Payne, Travels from 2017. 7.30pm at The Sportsman's Club, 11 Queens Road, Aberdeen
9 Mar Fri & Sat nights Glassie Bunkhouse, near Aberfeldy. (Sue Chalmers) This weekend meet is to an area not often visited by the Club. This is a great base for the Perthshire hills, including those accessible from Loch Tay and Glen Lyon. Blair Atholl is not so far way either. There are also several Corbetts and Grahams locally, along with many low-level walking and cycling options. To book, contact Sue Chalmers
13 Mar Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
17 Mar Sat Snowholing Overnighter - Northern Corries (Izy Kirkaldy) Becoming a regular winter meet we plan to overnight somewhere high in the Cairngorm Mountains, possibly in Coire Domhain, South East from the Fiacaill Buttress. Exactly where will depend on the snow cover. This is a car meet with departure time and location agreed by those attending. To book or register an interest, contact Izy Kirkaldy
20 Mar Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
27 Mar Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
29 Mar Thur Braes and Woods of Gight (Brian Davey)
30 Mar Fri - Sun Nights Great Glen Hostel, Loch Lochy (Jim Bryce) With plenty of walking, high & low level, skiing, cycling and even canoeing nearby, the hostel is a great base giving many options. This includes the Nevis range, the Grey Corries and the Loch Arkaig hills. Indeed the Hostel claims 59 Munros are within a 20 mile radius!! To book, contact (Jim Bryce)

Apr - Jun 2018
3 Apr Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
10 Apr Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
17 Apr Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
22 Apr Sun Ben Macdhui (Derek Beverley) A spring visit to the Cairngorm plateau with an ascent of Ben Macdhui from Linn of Dee. With the minibus staying at the Linn Car Park there are many other options available, including lower level walks. To book, contact Derek Beverley
24 Apr Tue

Lunch & Dander - Meet at Brimmond Hill East Car Park at 10:30am with lunch at the Brimmond Bistro at 12:30. (Ruth Payne)

24 Apr Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
26 Apr Thur Ben Tirran (Martin Duguid)
1 May Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
4 May Fri - Sun Nights Sail Mhor Croft, Dundonnell (Marj Ewan) Situated at the foot of the famous An Teallach mountain range, the hostel is ideally situated for mountaineers, walkers, backpackers and anyone wishing to explore this remarkable area. It is within easy reach of the Fisherfield Mountains, the Fannichs, the Beinn Dearg hills and many more. To book, contact Marj Ewan
8 May Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
15 May Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
19 May Sat Angels Peak (Garry Wardrope) Another visit to the Cairngorms this time to the west side of the Lairig Ghru and a visit to Sgorr an Lochain Uaine (the Angelís Peak). There is the possibility to bag three Munros on this meet, if the Devilís Point and Cairn Toul are also ascended. Again with the minibus staying at the Linn Car Park there are many other options available, including lower level walks. To book, contact Garry Wardrope
22 May Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
29 May Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
31 May Thur Ballochbuie (Ian Murray)
5 Jun Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
8 Jun Fri & Sat nights SMC Ling Hut, Torridon (Mark Peel) This weekend gives a fantastic chance to experience the Torridon area. With all of the Torridon Munros and Corbetts on the front doorstep and the north Achnashellach hills a short dander from the back door, you will be spoilt for choice. To book, contact Mark Peel
12 Jun Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
15 Jun Fri

Lunch & Dander - Meet at Old Kinord Car Park at 10:30am with lunch at Loch Kinord Hotel at 12:30. (Ruth Payne)

19 Jun Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
23 Jun Sat - Sun Overnighter - Knoydart (Ivan Hiscox) As described in more detail on page 3, this yearís Overnighter is to be a 3 day adventure. Attendees will gather in Fort William on Thursday. The through walk will start on Friday morning from Glefinnan and proceed to Inverie in Knoydart. You can spend either 1 or 2 nights out in the wide-open spaces, wild camping, bivvying or bothying or the 2nd night could be spent in an Inverie hostel. To book, or for more information, contact Ivan Hiscox
26 Jun Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
28 Jun Thur Ailnack Gorge (Malcolm Lamont)

Jul - Sept 2018
3 Jul Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
10 Jul Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
13 Jul Fri & Sat nights Strawberry Cottage, Glen Affric (Marj Ewan) The remote An Teallach Mountaineering Club hut has been booked for the Club once again. Come and savour the remoteness of the mountains of Glen Affric, 5 miles from a tarred road. Munros, Corbetts and low-level walking from the door. To book, contact Marj Ewan
17 Jul Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
24 Jul Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
26 Jul Thur Monelpie Moss and Loch Muick (Malcolm Lamont)
28 Jul Sat Ben Lawers (Garry Wardrope)
30 Jul -
4 Aug
Mon- Sat Verwall Alps Austria (6 Day Hut to Hut Tour) (Derek Beverley)
A meet to the Austrian Alps is scheduled for late July/early August and is open to all members who have a love of high places and enjoy adventure. If you've never visited Austria before or wish to try hut touring then this meet may be for you? Six days walking with 5 nights at mountain huts is planned. We intend departing Innsbruck Mon 30 Jul 2018 and returning mid-afternoon Sat 04 Aug 2018.
The walking will be on paths some sections of which have wires for security. We'll be below glacier level but expect patches of old (or new) snow. A typical day (up and over a 2700mtr col) will be around 6hrs duration and the trip is best described as moderately strenuous. If you are a fairly regular mountain goer then you should be fine.
Budget wise you'll need to get to Innsbruck first (I can advise on flights/trains/buses). Once in the mountains 50 Euros per 24 hours should be adequate and will get us a bed, half board (3 course evening meal and breakfast) and possibly a beer and strudel as well.
If you long for adventure and fancy a holiday in Austria this year then this meet is for you. A couple of us have a loose plan to do something the week after so no harm in getting in touch if you are free Sunday 5th onwards?
Additional information can be found here on the Club Forum  or by contacting Derek by email by clicking here.
31 Jul Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
7 Aug Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
14 Aug Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
17 Aug Fri & Sat nights Blackrock Cottage, Glencoe (Joyce Ritchie) The Ladies Scottish Climbing Club hut appears in lots of calendar photos nestling under the Buachaille and is handy for the many Munros and Corbetts nearby as well as climbing on some classic routes. To book, contact Joyce Ritchie
21 Aug Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
28 Aug Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
30 Aug Thur Corrie Fee and Mayar (Lydia Thomson)
2 Sept Sun Cairngorm Traverse (David Brown) The coach will depart from St Margaretís School for Glenmore at 7am. Various options include Ben Macdhui and Beinn Mheadhoin or a visit to Loch Avon and the Shelter Stone. Return to coach at Linn of Dee by 6.30pm. To book, contact David Brown
4 Sept Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
11 Sept Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
18 Sept Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
21 Sept Fri - Sun Nights Glenbrittle BMC Memorial Hut, Skye (Sue Chalmers) This meet offers as much walking and climbing as you can possibly pack into a weekend. Walk or climb on the Black Cuillin, the Red Cuillin or the sea cliffs. Take your pick, thereís so much to choose from. Set in Glen Brittle the BMC Hut is in an ideal location, and you can set off for many of the Black Cuillin summits from paths leading almost from the door. To book, contact Sue Chalmers
25 Sept Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
27 Sept Thur Craig Leek and Glen Feardar (Ken Thomson)
30 Sept Sun Gairnside (Garry Wardrope)

Oct - Dec 2018
2 Oct Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
9 Oct Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
12 Oct Fri & Sat nights Naismith Hut, Elphin (Colin Brown) The Club have the sole use of the excellent Hut in Elphin in North West Scotland for this Meet. There are a multitude of Munros and Corbetts in the vicinity, and for the climbers there is great climbing at Sheigra, Laxford Bridge, Storr, Sandwood Bay, Reiff and many more. Mountain routes on Stac Pollaidh and Foinaven are also nearby. To book, contact Colin Brown
16 Oct Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
23 Oct Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
25 Oct Thur Coreen Hills (Bert Swinborn)
28 Oct Sun Invercauld (Derek Beverley)
30 Oct Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
6 Nov Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
9 Nov Fri & Sat nights TBC (Jim Bryce)
13 Nov Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
14 Nov Wed AGM (Ken Thomson)
20 Nov Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
23 Nov Fri Annual Dinner (Marj Ewan)
25 Nov Sun Glen Muick - Clova (Ivan Hiscox)
27 Nov Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
29 Nov Thur Kincardine O'Neil to Aboyne (Donald Thomas)
4 Dec Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
7 Dec Fri & Sat nights TBC (Jim Bryce)
11 Dec Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
16 Dec Sun Strathbogie (Ken Thomson)
18 Dec Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
27 Dec Thur Crathes Castle Policies (Kees Witte)