Return to Home Page
About The Club
Muir Cottage
Club Activities
Meets Calendar
Past Meets
Newsletters
Club Membership
Club Contact Information
Club Forum
Links
Miscellaneous Items

Last updated: 16/11/17

 

Oct - Dec 2017 Jan - Mar 2018 Apr - Jun 2018 Jul - Dec 2018

                   
                   The Cairngorm Club Calendar of Events

Day Meets Climbing Meets Indoor/Social Meets
Weekend Meets Mid-Week Walks Other

Oct - Dec 2017
21 Nov Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
24 Nov Fri Dinner - Venue TBC (Derek Pinches)
28 Nov Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
30 Nov Thur Tap o'Noth (9am; 37; K; Judy Middleton)
1 Dec Fri & Sat nights

Inverardran Cottage, Crianlarich. (Sue Chalmers) Inverardran Cottage is a firm favourite with club members and particularly good in winter as it is both very comfortable and easy to reach.  Several Munros and Corbetts can be reached by walking from the cottage with Arrochar, Ben Lawers, Tyndrum the Bridge of Orchy hills and Glens Coe and Etive all within easy driving distance.  If that isn't enough to tempt you, we also plan to have a Christmas meal together on the Saturday evening! To book, contact Sue Chalmers.

5 Dec Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
6 Dec Wed Indoor Meet - Izy Kirkaldy, A Long Walk Home (The TGO Challenge 2017) (Ken Thomson)
10 Dec Sun Brown Cow Hill (Alex Barbour) This minibus meet heads up Donside to Corgarff Castle at Cock Bridge. The PP will do a circular traverse of Brown Cow Hill, the quirkily named Corbett to the SW of the Castle. There are various other options nearby for those looking for something different, another Corbett, Carn Ealasaid or a low-level walk through to Inchrory Lodge at the foot of Ben Avon and back among them. To book, contact Alex Barbour
12 Dec Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
19 Dec Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
28 Dec Thur Invercauld to Balmoral (9am; 43 & 44; K; Kees Witte)

Jan - Mar 2018
7 Jan Sun Lochnagar (Garry Wardrope) Our annual outing of the new year to Glen Muick where the president's party will ascend Lochnagar. There are many alternatives including the other Glen Muick Munros, Corbetts, walking back to Ballater or simply a walk around the loch itself. Afterwards we will return to the Burnett Arms for High Tea. The coach will depart St. Margaret's at 7am. Cost of the bus £15, High Tea £14.25. To book, contact Garry Wardrope
9 Jan Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
10 Jan Wed Indoor Meet - Members Night (Ken Thomson)
16 Jan Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
23 Jan Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
25 Jan Thur Kinellar and Tyrebagger (Marion White)
26 Jan Fri Muir Cottage, Burns Supper (Judy & Robbie Middleton) Celebrate Scotland’s Bard Robert Burns with some traditional Scottish food, drink and possibly some traditional music. Over the weekend you could also tackle some Munros, Corbetts, skiing or ski touring as well as your haggis, neeps and tatties. To book, contact Judy & Robbie Middleton
30 Jan Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
6 Feb Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
7 Feb Wed Indoor Meet
10 Feb Sat Ben Vorlich & Stuc a'Chroin (Garry Wardrope) This minibus meet is a trip to Loch Earn in Perthshire where the President’s Party will firstly ascend Ben Vorlich from where the short descent and ascent of Stuc a’Chroin can be made. Other options include only doing Ben Vorlich or perhaps a walk up Glen Ogle via the old railway line and back. To book, contact Garry Wardrope
13 Feb Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
16 Feb Fri Climbers Club, Riasg, Roy Bridge. (Jim Bryce) Riasg (‘The Boggy Place’) is situated in the village of Roybridge, on the A86 about 20km from Fort William. It is in an excellent location for Ben Nevis and the major climbing centres of the west coast of Scotland. Glen Coe is 35 minutes drive and even Skye and the Cairngorms are accessible from here. To book, contact Jim Bryce. Winter Skills training available at this meet, contact Garry Wardrope.
20 Feb Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
22 Feb Thur Seaton Cliffs & Auchmithie, Arbroath (Fiona Lyall)
27 Feb Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
6 Mar Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
7 Mar Wed Indoor Meet
9 Mar Fri Glassie Bunkhouse, near Aberfeldy. (Sue Chalmers) This weekend meet is to an area not often visited by the Club. Nearby there are Munros including those around Ben Lawers and in Glen Lyon. There are also several Corbetts and Grahams locally, along with many low-level walking and cycling options. To book, contact Sue Chalmers
13 Mar Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
17 Mar Sat Snowholing Overnighter - Northern Corries (Izy Kirkaldy) Becoming a regular winter meet we plan to overnight somewhere high in the Cairngorm Mountains, possibly in the Northern Corries, exactly where will depend on the snow. This is a car meet with departure time and location agreed by those attending, To book or register an interest, contact Izy Kirkaldy
20 Mar Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
27 Mar Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
29 Mar Thur Braes and Woods of Gight (Brian Davey)
30 Mar Fri Great Glen Hostel, Loch Lochy (Jim Bryce)

Apr - Jun 2018
3 Apr Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
10 Apr Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
17 Apr Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
24 Apr Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
26 Apr Thur Ben Tirran (Martin Duguid)
1 May Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
8 May Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
15 May Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
22 May Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
29 May Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
31 May Thur Ballochbuie (Ian Murray)
5 Jun Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
12 Jun Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
19 Jun Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
26 Jun Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
28 Jun Thur Ailnack Gorge (Malcolm Lamont)

Jul - Dec 2018
3 Jul Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
10 Jul Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
17 Jul Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
24 Jul Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
26 Jul Thur Monelpie Moss and Loch Muick (Malcolm Lamont)
31 Jul Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
7 Aug Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
14 Aug Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
21 Aug Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
28 Aug Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
30 Aug Thur Corrie Fee and Mayar (Lydia Thomson)
4 Sept Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
11 Sept Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
18 Sept Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
25 Sept Tue Outdoor Climbing (James Hirst)
27 Sept Thur Craig Leek and Glen Feardar (Ken Thomson)
2 Oct Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
9 Oct Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
16 Oct Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
23 Oct Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
25 Oct Thur Coreen Hills (Bert Swinborn)
30 Oct Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
6 Nov Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
13 Nov Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
20 Nov Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
27 Nov Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
29 Nov Thur Kincardine O'Neil to Aboyne (Donald Thomas)
4 Dec Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
11 Dec Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
18 Dec Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
27 Dec Thur Crathes Castle Policies (Kees Witte)