Return to Home Page
About The Club
Muir Cottage
Club Activities
Meets Calendar
Past Meets
Newsletters
Club Membership
Club Contact Information
Club Forum
Links
Miscellaneous Items

Last updated: 18/06/17

 

Apr - Jun 2017 Jul - Sept 2017 Oct - Dec 2017 2018

                   
                   The Cairngorm Club Calendar of Events

Day Meets Climbing Meets Indoor/Social Meets
Weekend Meets Mid-Week Walks Other

Apr - Jun 2017
20 Jun Tue Climbing - Alan's Cliff (Low Tide 16:53) (James Hirst)
27 Jun Tue Climbing - Floors Craig (High Tide 16:56) (James Hirst)
28 Jun Wed SGM to be held at the Aberdeen Grammar School FP Club Centre, 86 Queens Road, Aberdeen (Ken Thomson)
29 Jun Thur Correen Hills (9am; 37; K; Bert Swinborn)
30 Jun Fri Lunch & Dander - 10:30am at Scolty Woods Car Park with lunch in the Mains of Drum Garden Centre at 12:30pm. (Ruth Payne)

Jul - Sept 2017
1 Jul Sat Climbing - Arbroath Sea Cliffs (sports) (Low Tide 14:05) (James Hirst)
4 Jul Tue Climbing  - Clashrodney, Pink Slab & Cauesway (High Tide 22.31) (James Hirst)
9 Jul Sun Strathconnon (Garry Wardrope) This car meet will leave Aberdeen at a time to be determined by those attending nearer the day. The Presidentís Party target for the day is the Munro Maoile Lunndaidh but there are also several other Munros and Corbetts in the area. Coordination with the drivers will be required on the day for other drop-off and pick-ups. To book, contact Garry Wardrope
11 Jul Tue Climbing - Kirriehill (sports) (James Hirst)
14 Jul Fri - Wed nights Helyg, Ogwen, North Wales (Jim Bryce) For the July 2017 Weekend Meet the Cairngorm Club has booked the Climbersí Club Hut, Helyg, in the beautiful Ogwen Valley in North Wales. The Cairngorm Club has sole use of the 13 bedded Hut -

http://www.climbers-club.co.uk/venues/helyg-ogwen/

Because of the long distance from Aberdeen to North Wales the Cairngorm Club has booked 6 nights in Helyg. However, Cairngorm Club members donít have to book for all 6 nights as after the first night we only have to pay for the beds we use. Plenty of walking, climbing and cycling opportunities in the local area to the hut. To book, contact Jim Bryce

15 Jul Sat Climbing - Lochnagar (James Hirst)
18 Jul Tue Climbing - Earnsheugh (High Tide 21.45) (James Hirst)
25 Jul Tue Climbing - Pass of Ballater (James Hirst)
27 Jul Thur Carn an Tuirc (9am; 43; K; James Friend)
1 Aug Tue Climbing - Hidden Inlet (North of Aberdeen) (High Tide 21 43) (James Hirst)
5 Aug Sat Climbing - Clachnaben (James Hirst)
5 Aug Sat Stuchd an Lochain (Garry Wardrope) To attend Garry's final Munro you are invited to attend this meet to this Perthshire Munro. Day travel arrangements will be finalised nearer the time but Sue Chalmers is organising accommodation at the Ochils Club hut in Crianlairich (see Yahoo and the Forum for more info or email Sue). It is intended to approach the Munro from a start point at Pubil, near Loch Lyon. There is the option to approach from the dam on Loch an Daimh, and co-ordinate arrival at the summit with the other group. Anyone staying overnight can help Garry celebrate in the Ben More Lodge in Crianlairich. More information etc from Garry Wardrope
8 Aug Tue Climbing - Luath Stones, Alford (Bouldering) (James Hirst)
15 Aug Tue Climbing - Study Head (High Tide 20:02) (James Hirst)
18 Aug Fri & Sat nights CIC Hut, Ben Nevis (Mark Peel) A chance to wake up under the north face of Ben Nevis and be on a climb, scramble or walk in the heart of the Britainís highest mountain early enough to complete big routes or walks. To book, contact Mark Peel
19 Aug Sat Climbing - Northern Corries (James Hirst)
22 Aug Tue Climbing - Peel Slough (Low Tide 20:41) (James Hirst)
29 Aug Tue Climbing - Bolts Heugh (High Tide 19.35) (James Hirst)
31 Aug Thur Ben Newe and Glen Buchat (9am; 37; K; Lydia Thomson)
3 Sept Sun Cairngorm Traverse (Garry Wardrope) The coach will depart from St Margaretís School for Glenmore at 7am for our annual trek across the Cairngorms. Various options include Ben Macdhui and Beinn Mheadhoin, or a visit to the Shelter Stone. Return to the coach at Linn of Dee by 6.30pm. Cost is £15. To book, contact Garry Wardrope
2 Sept Sat Climbing - Redhythe Point/Logiehead (Low Tide 17:45) (James Hirst)
5 Sept Tue Climbing - Souter Head (Low Tide 19.46) (James Hirst)
12 Sept Tue Climbing- Details via email or the Facebook group (High Tide 18.33) (James Hirst)
16 Sept Sat Climbing - Huntly's Cave (James Hirst)
19 Sept Tue Climbing- Details via email or the Facebook group (Low Tide 19.42) (James Hirst)
22 Sept Fri - Sun nights Morvich Outdoor Centre, Kintail (Jim Bryce) To be held over the September holiday weekend, this meet is to the National Trust Hostel at Morvich. With the Corbetts and Munros of Glen Shiel and Glen Affric and Glen Lichd nearby, and only a short drive from Skye, this meet offers plenty of options. To book, contact Jim Bryce
26 Sept Tue Climbing- Details via email or the Facebook group (High Tide 17.56) (James Hirst)
28 Sept Thur Bennachie, The Gordon Way (9am; 37 & 38; K; Marion White)

Oct - Dec 2017
1 Oct Sun Mount Keen (Garry Wardrope)
3 Oct Tue Lunch & Dander - 10:30am at Waterside Car Park, Forvie NNR with lunch in the Newburgh Inn at 12:30pm. (Ruth Payne)
3 Oct Tue Indoor Climbing Season Begins (James Hirst)
10 Oct Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
13 Oct Fri & Sat nights Corran Bunkhouse (Mark Peel) This self-contained 12 bed bunkhouse is in an excellent location with Glencoe, Ardnamurchan, the Mamores, Glen Nevis etc. all within easy reach. Climbing is also available on Ben Nevis and in Glencoe. Plenty of cycling and low level walking also in the area. To book, contact Mark Peel
17 Oct Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
24 Oct Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
26 Oct Thur Coastal walk near Cullen (9am; 28 & 29; P; Evelyn Massie)
28 Oct Sat Glen Isla (Garry Wardrope)
31 Oct Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
7 Nov Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
10 Nov Fri & Sat nights Bearnock Country Centre, near Cannich (Sue Chalmers)
14 Nov Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
15 Nov Wed AGM (Ken Thomson)
21 Nov Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
24 Nov Fri Dinner - Venue TBC (Benn Hitchen)
28 Nov Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
30 Nov Thur Tap o'Noth (9am; 37; K; Judy Middleton)
1 Dec Fri & Sat nights

Inverardran Cottage, Crianlarich. (Sue Chalmers) A visit to the Ochil Mountaineering Cottage at Crianlarich from where there are many options in a fine mountainous area with 20 Munros and nearly as many Corbetts, or if you fancy a weekend away with some low-level walking there is the West Highland Way which passes close by. To book, contact Sue Chalmers.

5 Dec Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
10 Dec Sun Tap o'Noth (Garry Wardrope)
12 Dec Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
19 Dec Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
28 Dec Thur Invercauld to Balmoral (9am; 43 & 44; K; Kees Witte)

2018
9 Jan Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
16 Jan Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)
23 Jan Tue Indoor Climbing (James Hirst)